The Gospel is Offensive…But to Who?

I wrote a blog a while back titled, “Offending the Party Poopers.” It was written after thinking that maybe the one’s who are offended by the gospel/good news are actually Christians who doubt and have a narrow view God’s generosity and grace.

I had really been struck (and still am) by the Parable of the Laborers in Matthew 20. After the laborers grumble about getting paid the same amount as those who worked less, the landowner responded, “Can I not to what I want with what’s my own? Or are you envious because I am generous?”

His answer to the upset workers sat with me. I immediately felt like God was asking me the same question, and furthermore, asking the Church as well.

Just last Sunday I finally got to preach on this idea using the Older Son from the Parable of the Lost Son (Luke 15) and the Parable of the Workers (Matthew 20). I had been wanting to teach it badly. I can’t tell you how pleased and encouraged I am from the response of the congregation at Southern Heights Baptist Church.

So, if you are interested in listening, click HERE, scroll down to the bottom and find the sermon that has my name on it, “Miles Meehan,” from June 23. I really think the Church has a lot to learn from these parables.

I would love to hear from all who listen.

About miles

Follower of the King.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

